UT Health San Antonio Brings Together the Best in Breast Cancer Treatment at 41st Annual SABCS

By Sean M. Wood
Tuesday, October 30, 2018

More than 7,000 physicians, scientists, investigators and advocates from across the globe will descend on San Antonio the first week in December for the 41st annual San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium (SABCS).

The event, founded, owned and operated by UT Health San Antonio, has grown to become one of the premier breast cancer symposia in the world. The Baylor College of Medicine Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center and American Association of Cancer Research (AACR) cosponsor the event that provides education and accessibility to the latest information regarding the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of premalignant breast cancer and breast disease.

Some of the most significant results in the treatment of breast cancer have been released at this conference. The format allows researchers and practitioners an unprecedented chance to collaborate.

“The opportunity for clinicians and basic scientists to interact is unique in the world of breast cancer research,” says SABCS Co-Director Virginia Kaklamani, MD, Professor of Medicine, Division of Hematology/Oncology, UT Health San Antonio. “Basic scientists understand the problems the clinicians face and this is where science is moved forward.”

Some of the most prominent names in breast cancer research will be at SABCS 2018 receiving awards for their work and presenting lectures on their research. They include 2018 William L. McGuire Memorial Lecture Award recipient Ian Smith, MD, FRCP, FRCPE.

Lisa Coussens, PhD, and Eric P. Winer, MD, will receive the 2018 Brinker Awards for Scientific Distinction. Coussens’ lecture is titled,“Modeling Immune Response: Lessons Learned from Mouse Models of Cancer Development.” Dr. Winer’s lecture is “The Challenge of Doing Less.”

There are two plenary lectures scheduled. Ingrid Mayer, MD, MCSI, of Vanderbilt University Medical Center, in Nashville, Tennessee, will present “Neoadjuvant Endocrine Therapy: The Times They Are A-Changing.” Nicholas E. Navin, PhD, of the UT MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, will present “Breast Tumor Evolution and Intratumor Heterogeneity — Insights from Single Cell Genomics.”

Additionally, there will be two mini-symposia. Jenny C. Chang, MD, of Houston Methodist Hospital, Houston, will moderate “Man vs. Machine: Now and in the Future.” Alan Karthikesalingam, MD, PhD, of DeepMind, London; Nico Karssemeijer, PhD, of Radboud University Medical Centre, Nijmegen, Netherlands; and Andres H. Beck, MD, PhD, of PathAI in Cambridge, Massachusetts, are her speakers.

Brinker-recipient Dr. Winer, of the Dana-Faber Cancer Institute in Boston, will moderate “Over and Under Treatment: The Bookends That Keep Us from Getting It Right for Each Patient.” Reshma Jagsi, MD, Director of the Center for Bioethics and Social Sciences in Medicine at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and Rachel A. Freedman, MD, MPH, of the Dana-Faber Cancer Institute, are his speakers.

Other presentations attendees can look forward to this year include the advancing of radiation therapy for local breast cancer. There will be reports on both long-term follow up and primary analysis of multiple highly anticipated clinical trials. Research into the long-term cardiac toxicities of breast cancer therapy and the impact of different local therapies on quality of life for patients will also be highlighted.

The Joe R. & Teresa Lozano Long School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

This activity has been approved for AMA PRA Category 1 Credits. Details on accreditation and applicability can be found in the conference program.

SABCS 2018 will be at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center Dec. 4–8. Discounted registration is available until Oct. 31. Visit sabcs.org for more information. The deadline for hotel reservations is Nov. 16.